Windows Server Licenses

Windows Server 2016

In the 2016 version, the standard and datacenter editions are still available. There are no processor-based licenses anymore. The licensing of the server software of Windows Server 2016 is based on core licenses for both editions. All physical cores of the server have to be licensed. The core licenses are available in a two-packs. A license always covers 2 cores.

To access the server software, Windows Server 2016 requires client access licenses (CALs). These can be licensed per user or per device.

Client Access Licenses (CALs)

Specific to Windows Server operating systems, when the Windows Server is accessed by IT users, there are no editions that can be used in a legally compliant manner without Client Access Licenses (CALs).

There are two different CALs for the Windows Server operating system, the two respective versions User CAL and Device CAL:

  • Windows Server CAL – entitlement to access applications installed on the Windows Server operating system.
  • Terminal Server CAL (TS-CAL) / Remote Desktop Service CAL (RDS-CAL) – entitlement to access Services of the Terminal Server integrated within Windows Servers. Aside from the TS-CAL or RDS-CAL, a Windows Server CAL is required for licensing agreement compliant usage.
  • Since, for instance, Citrix XenApp is set up on the Windows Terminal Server, a Windows Server CAL and TS-CAL or RDS-CAL is likewise required per user.

We can offer you the following Microsoft Server versions:

Microsoft Server

  • Windows Server 2016 / 2012R2
  • Exchange Server 2016 / 2013 / 2010
  • SQL Server 2016 / 2014 / 2012
  • SharePoint Server 2016 / 2013 / 2010
  • System Center 2016 2Core / 2012 R2 2Proc
Microsoft Server CALS

  • Windows Server Standard / Data Center 2016 / 2012R2
  • Exchange Server 2016 / 2013 / 2010
  • SharePoint Server 2016 / 2013 / 2010
  • System Center 2016 2Core / 2012 R2 2Proc
  • Remote Desktop Service (RDS)

Request a quote now


+49 (0)8143 9914660